Growing up on the Farm

I’m not going to lie. I actually enjoyed Taylor Swift’s music at one point in my life.  Oddly enough, I don’t really listen to her anymore, but this picture is probably one of my favorite gifs on the internet. The reason why I added this picture is basically because this is a perfect description of myself. In other words, I am super into hip hop/rap and this is what I feel like most of the time -a super nerdy white girl, but I’m not ashamed because music has always been my obsession.

Tyler by Brick Stowell

I got into hip hop a few years ago in high school. Actually, I have listened to it a lot before in elementary school. (Hearing the same songs now and actually understanding what the words mean, its kind of funny but horrifying at the same time.) I started listening to hip hop through Tyler, the Creator. I guess I fell in love with his music because he reminded me of myself (mad corny). Today, Tyler is still one of my favorites (not just rapping wise but his production is sick too), but I love a lot of other artists/ groups as well.

Here are some recommendations:

  • Black Hippy
  • Chance the Rapper
  • Danny Brown
  • Death Grips
  • Flatbush Zombies
  • Flying Lotus
  • Isaiah Rashad
  • Odd Future
  • Pro Era
  • Theophilus London

Oh: I know this is side tracking and random, but when you’re going to listen to music, listen to the ENTIRE ALBUM (or mixtape). If you haven’t been doing this, your life has been a lie.
Oh #2: I’m real excited to be listening to Childish Gambino in class. Because the Internet is super cool.
Oh#3: The title of this post is not true at all or relevant. I did not grow up on a farm.
Oh#4: I don’t just listen to hip hop.

Like many people in my generation, I have no idea what I’m going to do with my life. I have this problem where I kind of want to do everything. I want to make movies, produce music, write books, help people (not just help, but like Oprah help), work at American Apparel, and live in a castle. Having big dreams is not really a major issue but I have another problem. I suck at ending posts or stories.

uh bye.

One comment

  1. This whole post is great. From the Taylor Swift meme to the title and the tags, you had me laughing. I can also relate to your post. Being a white male, I too feel super nerdy from time to time for listening to hip-hop. Most of my friends listen to rock music, so when I pull up listening to hip-hop, they give me the weirdest looks. Have you ever checked out any of the MCs on Rhymesayers, Shad K or GDP? They’re all pretty awesome and worth checking out. Thanks for the recommendations!

Leave a Reply

