Is a Blank Slate Really Blank?

I’ve come to the point in my life at the age of 19, where I am not too sure about what I want to do with my life. My biggest hope is that along my journey, I will not regret to take the road less traveled. I want to stand out and be different, and do things that most individuals would never dare to do. But it seems that the more I think about my life, the more I view myself as a blank slate. But is a blank slate really blank? Every day I am a blank slate; fresh and new, untouched by the markings of the individuals who have the courage to leave their impressions in the form of ideas and opinions. A blank slate might be touched by the markings of different people who use different colors, not thinking about what will be left behind once it is erased. Colors such as red cannot be fully erased, such as the anger and disappointment I have experienced in my life that have never been fully forgotten. It stays with me as the redness on the “blank slate” is still visible, as a new person with a different marker tries to leave their impression on my slate. I have had many people come in and out of my life, affecting me in many ways; positively and negatively. Although the markings might not be fully erased, the board itself can still be used, just as I can still become the person I want to be and accomplish the many tasks I aspire to accomplish, although I am “marked.” I have a twin sister which ultimately results in a competition. Who looks better, who is smarter and overall, who is “better.” But can that even be determined by first glance? Many of times when choosing a blank slate we don’t want the one that has markings or the one who is damaged. We naturally choose the one that looks perfect in our eyes. But I can truly say that I am not perfect, but still worthy of the markings of others.

3 comments

  1. No one is “perfect” to start. Looks in no way determine success either. I thought it was very interesting when you said your life is a blank slate. I too a few years ago thought myself to be the very same, not knowing what to do, or what I wanted out of life. Being yourself and different from the rest is always a good thing. Be a leader not a follower. I liked your post a lot, and could relate to what you said. I hope you find your passion in life, and do what you want to do, and not what others think you should.

  2. Wow your post is so deep! I’m so happy I took the time to read this, thank you for letting us all in so much. It must have been difficult the challenges you faces at a young age and it makes me appreciate all that I take for granted. I’m happy to hear how far you have come and that you have so much to look forward too! That really says a lot about how positive and mature you are.

  3. First off, The Road Not Taken is one of my favorite Frost poems. He writes wonderful poetry. I loved the connections you made in your blog. Comparing your life to a board is really quite creative. I liked how you describe the marks that people leave on your board and in your life and how some of them can not be erased. It’s hard not knowing what to do with your life and realizing you only have four years to really figure it out and then you’re in the real world, but if you just follow your passion, that will take you in the right direction.

Leave a Reply

