A strange New World for those born in it

Most of us reading this blog were born during the emergence of the dotcom era that gave us an unknown teenage experience of  shaping our personal identities online. I think we can all get nostalgic when we remember nights chatting with friends on AIM or AOL instant messenger.

hey bro you wanna watch the lords of dog-town?

My father never had to worry about how to articulate his feelings in a text message with smiley faces or how to strategically delay response messages, and yet, we spend much of our time determining how we sound on the web. Even as I write this blog, we write it differently than if we were creating an account on okcupid or match.com; the internet has thus given us the ability to shape an identity that can remain hidden from our family and friends

So what does this have to do with myself? My four years at Rutgers has taught me how to bs through formal assignments and the ones about myself always stump me. Just by the way I type, I’m reveling much about myself towards the reader that I don’t even know. Bear with me if I don’t reveal my personality too much in this blog, its really something I like to perform in person rather than through text.

But throughout this class, I wish to reveal more about myself to my readers For my first post I’ll tell you a question that I spend a lot of time thinking about, and that question is how committed are we when we say that we have “faith in humanity?” This question has baffled me so much that it inspired me to go out and teach in an urban city school with kids I never interacted with throughout my white suburban childhood.  I wish to tell you more about my pursuits of being an English teacher down in Washington D.C, but for now, I want to just discuss how learning the experiences and challenges of others is a necessary function in saving humanity.

At first I thought I could gain a stronger understanding of the World’s problems by joining the Army through the ROTC program at Seton hall, but it was the subtle things within the government sponsored fraternity that drove me out. One day I was having lunch with a group of ROTC members in the cafeteria in which I mentioned the presence of attractive women in the area. I said, “Wow theres some hot women on this campus.” the group of men stared at me and started to laugh because of the way I phrased the college girls as “hot women.” In retrospect, I could have used better words, but at the time I was actually attempting to not sound offensive. It wasn’t until a few years after I left the ROTC program that this story came time to mind

hahaha! he called them hot women

I know it may sound like I am targeting all of our men & women of service, but  it is imperative to realize how we can indirectly enforce stereotypes and gender roles on a day to day basis.

So now I enjoy using my cyber identity to enlighten others on how they may come off as ignorant or offensive with their claims. Chats often become political but addressing these points are rarely discussed in face-to-face interaction. Therefore, people like myself feel more confident posting arguments on the internet rather than approaching them in real life. I do have that feeling that may be considered offensive or condescending with this whole “humanitarian” we are the world talk, but I  really wouldn’t know. I learned early in life that insults from strangers on the internet shouldn’t matter (never read Youtube comments, I think they’re meant to be rude). It’s really the personal insults from those we consider close that hurt.

Sorry for ending my blog with something sad, so here is a trailer for the final third film of the The Human Centipede trilogy for those interested.

2 comments

  1. I enjoyed your post because you preficed it with a personal story but left room for development and growth throughout the course. I am interested to see how you will address the topic and hopefully it can change other opinions or world views. Opening one person’s eyes is better than nothing!

  2. Living in the technology era gives us many advantages: we can use internet to express feelings. I agree it has many strengths and myself also love blog kind of stuff. But in the meantime, I still feel it drives people apart to some degree. People are often looking at their phones when others talk. In conferences or classes, we now hold our computers to do other things. Personally, I don’t prefer to use these social media. I think face-to-face communication and common experiences can bring people more closer.

Leave a Reply

