For a Lifetime Guarantee

529329_334478689947342_100001556417029_904388_1768717102_n

Greek life. What are the words that come to mind when you hear this term? Hazing? Party? Frat Life? I have heard a number of these, but that is not what comes to mind when I hear them. I think of family, community, service, leadership and brotherhood. Since joining Phi Sigma Pi, the co-ed honor fraternity on campus, these words have become vital not only in my vocabulary, but in my life.  Through this amazing organization, I have become the person I want to be.

I have always been a bit self conscious in social settings. Until I get a feel for the people and the atmosphere, I can be on the shy side. This comes down to the biggest fear I have, which is looking dumb in front of other. I hate that I see that as a fear, but it is something I cannot ignore. However, becoming a Brother in this organization has helped me overcome this because these people will not judge me. They  have shown me that being myself, regardless of how silly I can be, is a great thing. They have helped me embrace who I am, and to show everyone my true colors. They have introduce me to what it is like to take chances.  Don’t believe me? Take a look at the video below. It takes a courage to run a bed down College Ave in front of a number of people. Was it worth it? Totally.

One of the best things Phi Sigma Pi has done for me is reminded me the importance of service. This is not to say I did not like volunteering or doing community service. I used to do it because it was required. Now, it is something I look forward to. One of my favorite service events happens to be one of the biggest events held at Rutgers, Dance Marathon. This will be my second year dancing for 30 hours. Our fraternity was able to adopt and dance for a little girl through Embrace Kids Foundation. Through Phi Sigma Pi I dance with some amazing Brothers for 30 hours without sitting. I am able to take part in Rutgers history. Through this organization, I  have learned how far volunteering, community service, and a helping hand  can go.

IMG_0706

IMG_0729

I could tell you all the benefits of going Greek, and what you can gain. I can tell you about the lifetime friendships, about the experience and skill you can learn. However, I want to tell you how one organization is changing my life for the better. When rushing the Fraternity, Brothers tend to say that new members always have something to give to the organization. Instead, they should tell how the fraternity will bring something into their life. I would know, because it has happened to me.

3 comments

  1. Your post highlights that there are two understanding of Greek Life on campus: the academic fraternities and the social fraternities. However there appears to a division between the two; and yet, the two both participate in charity events and community service. And they both provide a sense of community. Why is there a distance between the two? Can a bridge be made between the two? Should a bridge be made between them?

  2. This was eye-opening for me because I used to think exactly what you said. That fraternities were just fronts for parties and the “real” college experience. Don’t get me wrong, that sounds great too! But it’s really nice to know that there is much more to it than that. Service and community are very important, and it’s great to know that fraternities help shy people become comfortable in their own skin. I never would have thought that I’d say this, but your post has made me interested in looking into joining a fraternity next year. Thanks for showing that there is a lot of diversity when it comes to Greek life!

  3. I find it amazing how Greek Life has helped you find your “people” in this enormous university! I am not going to lie, but I did not think much of Greek Life until my older sister joined a sorority. Once I started to see how much of a positive affect it had on her I became a fan of Greek Life. That fact that you have made lifelong friendships, enjoy hanging out with your co-ed honor fraternity, and know that they accept you for who you are is incredible. You are very lucky to have experienced all these wonderful events in your life at such a young age. Also, I have not had a chance to go to the bed races for homecoming as well as Dance Marathon and I am extremely jealous! They look like so much fun!

    Heres a link to a website that talks about the benefits of Greek Life:
    http://www.usatodayeducate.com/staging/index.php/campuslife/examining-the-benefits-of-greek-life

Leave a Reply

