Growing Pains

If there was one word that I would use to describe myself, it would definitely be “spontaneous”.

Growing up, I had wanted to try everything. My parents always told me “you can do anything you set your mind to do”, soooo I guess you can say that’s exactly what I did. At first, I had wanted to be a “ballerina”, so I took dance classes. And then I was interested in astronomy so I would search up information about astrology and begged my parents for a telescope. Then I wanted to become a baker, so then I would search up recipes and tried to bake all types of goods. Then I had wanted to try basketball, so I went to a free basketball camp and that did not work out, though I ended up becoming interested in the sport. But I did end up becoming a cheerleader. They’re so many more stories like this – I guess you can say my life when I was a child was filled with “trials and errors”.

But I am glad that I had indulged in these activities. I still carry many of these interests today, and I feel as though it has helped me relate to all types of people. I am still a dancer – I currently dance for the Rutgers Performing Dance Company, and this will be my 12th year straight being a dancer. Dance is one of my passions as it helps me to express myself.  Also, it is a great stress reliever, since it can be looked at as another form of exercise. This is me with a few of the people in my dance group last semester – it was such an awesome time:

dances13

Other than that, I still continued cheering for 8 years but stopped my last year of high school, I definitely gave up on astrology, and I actually became a huge basketball fan (Go Lakers!).

But one thing I have always been interested in was media and computers, which is why my major right now is computer science. I wouldn’t say that I’m addicted to media nor do I take it seriously, but it definitely keeps me entertained. I have a Twitter, Facebook, Instagram, and Tumblr, but I am mostly on Twitter and Tumblr. It’s pretty interesting seeing how people interact and how one idea can spread to thousands of others within minutes.

At the end of the day, I guess you can say I am still trying to find myself. Being a student at Rutgers University has been such a great experience; I’ve been able to meet all types of people due to how diverse the university is.  I’ve also been able to find new hobbies such as joining the gym (which is weird to me, because I used to HATE gym class in high school haha), volunteering around campus, and becoming more in tune with my culture as I’m a part of the West Indian Student Organization (I’m half Guyanese, half Dominican). Some of my other hobbies include travelling, playing video games, baking dishes (yup, still!), shopping, and just having a great time with my friends. I’m really hoping that the next three years here would be as great as my first year.

PS – I’m excited for this class 😀

Leave a Reply

