Me? Who’s that?

Asking a person who they are when they are still figuring it out makes this a hard question to answer. Sometimes I find myself questioning where I am going in life between what society already pre-plans for you to be considered “successful” and what choices I have the freedom to make. I feel I am a product of my environment at times, for example being at a four year school it seems everyone goes on similar tracks. School, intern, get a job or go to grad school to eventually get a job. More specifically, trying to figure out what makes you stand out amongst thousands and thousands of people in the exact same boat can be extremely difficult. Whether or not it is selfish to say, I want to make more out of my life than always focusing on landing the job where my supposed bubble is the size of a cubicle.

969774_10200203644317342_940899648_n

This is why studying abroad was probably the best experience I’ve ever had. Not only do I love to travel, but it also taught me a lot about culture and what ours means versus the rest of the world. We live to work whereas in Italy I noticed the people simply work to live. They have a means to an end and that is all they need to know. I was able to go places I have never been and appreciate them in my own way. As far as my digital profile goes I want the world to know my experiences have shaped me to be a more open minded, optimistic person. One who has been around the global neighborhood enough to realize it is not our way or the highway. Values change in different places, and those places will change you. Do I have a full grasp of my self identity at 21 years old? No. But I’ve climbed to the top of St. Peter’s Basilica in Rome and have drank beer in Munich and saw lava spewing from a helicopter over the Hawaii Volcanoes National Park and that’s pretty awesome in my book. I don’t know who exactly I will become or what the future holds, but I know I’ve been blessed with the opportunity to go to many places and those experiences contributed to my happiness.

Study abroad clip

4 comments

  1. I really enjoyed your post. It is true that society basically outlines our lives and how they should be. I think this is the reason why a lot of people get jobs that they’re expected to get instead of a job they truly enjoy and admire. I really like when you said “We live to work whereas in Italy I noticed the people simply work to live.” It has become normal for people to forget their purpose in life. Great post and studying abroad sounded like a lifetime experience, congrats!!!

  2. I could not agree with you more! One of the many reasons I love to travel is I get to see some of the cultures that are out there that help me feel more alive, especially Italy! When one is traveling, one is often reminded to stop and just look around because we are so focused on the what you described as “a product of your environment”. Honestly, it is okay for you to not fully know your self identity because the path you take to help find it is half the fun! The path life takes down is only as entertaining and exciting as we choose to make it. My mother has always encouraged college students to study abroad because they are young and the experience is almost always unforgettable, in a positive way of course. Even though the unknown can be scary, most people around our age forget that we are still young and will only be young once.

    Here is an article on some of the benefits traveling has!
    http://www.indiatimes.com/lifestyle/travel/5-benefits-of-travelling-111919.html

  3. That sounds like a very interesting experience! I am probably planning to study abroad too. I love to travel as well and it is definitely important to gain experience and insight into other lifestyles from different parts of the world. I feel as though too many people have the “my way or the highway” mentality and that the world should follow in their footsteps. On the reverse side of that I feel as though too many people think that there is a set way to live your life (one that society sees fit). Not too many people are willing to break from the mold and simply live their life they want to.

  4. Studying abroad sounds interesting. I am sure your travels and experiences will bring a plethora of interesting stories/blogs that are worth reading. The lava spewing from the volcano from a helicopter sounds especially interesting.

Leave a Reply

