Music, My Essence

185788_466097993451966_364330696_n

My name is Patrick Leccese and I’m twenty-one years old. Within the span of my twenty-one years, many things about my life have changed, especially my interests (my “jocky” eight year old self would be mortified knowing that I didn’t watch the Superbowl last night). Although my interests have and will continue to change, one hasn’t and probably never will, music. Listening to and creating music means everything to me.

It all started when I was a child. Growing up in the nineties, I was always exposed to bands like Green Day, Pearl Jam and Nirvana. My father listened to this type of music, along with bands like Jane’s Addiction and Stone Temple Pilots. Although I did like these bands, my favorite was the Foo Fighters. The first song I ever remember listening to is “Big Me”. They were and continue to be one of my favorite bands. They were also part of the reason why I started playing music.

My love for music really blossomed throughout middle and high school. Those seven years were pretty rough for me and music was always there. It was my best friend when I had none. It was my parent when my father left. It was my therapist on the days I thought I was going to explode. Thanks to music, I got through those rough times and came out a better man in the end. Without it, I don’t know and wouldn’t like to know where I would’ve ended up.

Today, music is an even bigger part of my life. Luckily, my music taste has broadened and I now like a variety of different genres. In terms of playing music, I am currently playing bass in a band called Alaska and we’re recording several songs this month. Once we release them, we plan on playing shows throughout the tri-state area. Other than that, I also write my own music and “spit rhymes” in the car and/or shower. I hope to make a career of it one day.

Check out:

This Will Destroy You

From Indian Lakes

Have Mercy

Shad K

Aesop Rock

American Football

Tides of Man

2 comments

  1. I definitely enjoyed your post about music, and I can tell how passionate you are about it. Like you said music has a way of helping people go through difficult times in there lives. While people, circumstances, or events can come in and out of your life music is always here to stay. It’s very cool that you’re in a band and play an instrument, which is the hardest thing to do in the world I think.

  2. I’m so glad to hear how music has changed you for the better. It’s inspiring to see how your passion has led you on a higher road. I’d love to hear your band play sometime in the future.

Leave a Reply

