Myself and Music

I never really knew what to talk about when people asked me to describe myself. I’m still trying to figure it out. I’ve always started with my hobbies or interests, so I’ll just do that. My name is Alex. One of the influences that have changed my life was my taste in music. I started listening to metal in middle school because of an influence from my cousin. It definitely has had an impact on me and changed the way I perceive things in life.

Whether it’s going to a show, or just jamming out in my living room, music has always had an inspirational effect on me. For me, metal shows are one of the best ways to let out my emotions. To share your energy with the crowd is a feeling you can’t get anywhere else. It’s one of the places that I truly feel like I connect or belong.

To me, the sound of metal is just beautiful. I can connect it to everything I do on a daily basis. It can be a certain riff or heavy breakdown that pumps me up for the gym, or an uplifting song that makes me want to get out of bed and start my day. Sometimes it’s just the way the song sounds that hooks me onto it. But more importantly, if I have a connection with the lyrics, I become so much more attached to it. The songs can get me through a hard time, inspire me, or motivate me.

“The failings of yesterday become the catalyst to seek my change.” – “Hollow” by Parkway Drive

This quote by one of my favorite bands motivates me to better myself every day and work towards my ambitions. Any goal that I have not reached yet, or wherever I have fallen short, I can work towards to improve. It represents my favorite lyrical theme, which is one that pushes me to achieve.

Metal is also what inspired me to start playing guitar. I began taking lessons when I was in sixth grade and have been playing ever since. I love jamming out with my friends or making guitar covers of my favorite songs. If I’m having a bad day, I know I can go home and my guitar is waiting for me in my bedroom. It’s just something that I love to do as a hobby. If I had the natural talent to be a vocalist, I’d probably be doing that too.

Leave a Reply

