True beauty is worth sharing

Screen Shot 2014-02-15 at 11.45.18 PMContrary to popular belief, we shouldn’t need social media to enjoy a sunset nowadays; however, I would be a liar and a hypocrite if I said that I didn’t share this picture on my Instagram. I like to believe that when I see beauty in the world I’d prefer to capture it and share it with others so that I can have a concrete memory of why it was beautiful and what I felt in that real time. This was the sunset on the first day of my weekend trip to Baltimore last week: a trip filled with many friends, memories, and music galore.

3 comments

  1. This picture is very pretty and I thank you for sharing. I found it interesting that you said having a picture of something this wonderful offers you a concrete memory of how you were feeling exactly when the picture was taken. Traditonally, a memory is not concrete; it is simply a recollection of a concrete event that we use our feelings, something that is very abstract, to remember. Your statement now has me wondering if technology has reversed this process: is our emotional memory so inhibited by the screen of a cell phone that we need tangible evidence to support what we think we felt?

  2. I completely agree with your first sentence. I too am troubled at my own impulse to pull of my phone and take a picture each time I see a beautiful sunset (or a beautiful flower, or house, or meal for that matter.) Your post also reminded me of the part of the Susan Sontag essay when she writes that tourists and travelers feel compelled to put their camera between themselves and whatever they see that is extraordinary, because the beauty and wonder is overwhelming and they don’t know how else to handle it. I feel that this might be the case with the sunset pictures. We only know so much about the sunset scientifically, and yet it is so far away, and yet it happens every day, and yet it is so extraordinary that I think we don’t know what to do with ourselves than take a picture to share with others. We don’t know how to just stare and feel satisfied in basking in the natural beauty, perhaps because we were never taught that it is meaningful and necessary to do so.

  3. This post is interesting, for I feel as though it describes a struggle that many of us face in this technological age. Do we need a photograph to validate our experience? Do they serve as memorials for fleeting experiences and if they do, do they retain their value over time? Although I do snap pictures of beautiful moments on my phone from time to time and completely understand the reasoning behind it, I’ve come to realize that the best and most memorable moments of my life were never photographed. Why? I think it has to do with the fact that I was embracing these moments; I was immersed in them. I couldn’t comprehend the significance of them as they were unfolding in real time, therefore I felt no need to photograph them. Even if one had taken pictures of these moments, they would not compare to the mental images, the memories that I possess today.

Leave a Reply

