unwritten

What is your opinion on the degeneration of handwritten works in today’s society?

2

I think the degeneration of handwritten works reflects high dependence on technology as a medium for communication. There are various benefits that can come with handwritten… stuff.

3

I think it’s too bad. Knowing how to write is art in itself and writing neatly in cursive is like a masterpiece. It takes a lot of patience and focus to not only write by hand, but also to make it look presentable. Since we’re in a world and age so dominated by technology, it becomes an inconvenience to write by hand.

In our society today, too many of us find ourselves too busy to stop and handwrite a love letter, a poem, an idea, or even something so simple as a to-do list. We instead turn to our cellphones and computers. We rather text our loved ones as opposed to a thought out, heartfelt letter. Something that would immediately mean more and get a point across much better. We turn to convenience as opposed to passion. I personally find handwriting something as simple as a to-do list much more helpful. I find song writing with paper and a pencil much more fulfilling, and rewards me with something I am much more proud of.

In our society today, too many of us find ourselves too busy to stop and handwrite a love letter, a poem, an idea, or even something so simple as a to-do list. We instead turn to our cellphones and computers. We rather text our loved ones as opposed to a thought-out, heartfelt letter-something that would immediately mean more and get a point across much better. We turn to convenience as opposed to passion. I personally find handwriting something as simple as a to-do list much more helpful. I find song writing with paper and a pencil much more fulfilling, and rewards me with something I am much more proud of.

It's being taken over by computers like the one I'm typing on right now, but that doesn't mean its all bad. It has pros and cons like everything else. It's faster and more convenient, but it isn't as much of an art form as writing by hand can be. I think handwriting and typing are both skills that everyone should use and they should be harmonious.

[Handwriting is] being taken over by computers like the one I’m typing on right now, but that doesn’t mean it is all bad. It has pros and cons like everything else. It’s faster and more convenient, but it isn’t as much of an art form as writing by hand can be. I think handwriting and typing are both skills that everyone should use and they should be harmonious.

it's merely an obvious consequence of practicalitiy of technology. There aren't much negative ramifications that typed works have brought but rather positive. I must say there is more intimacy and sincerity in handwritten works but as long as one continues to write, I don't think it doesn't matter which means of writing one undertakes. It's just a matter of personal preference.

It’s merely an obvious consequence of the practicality of technology. There are few negative ramifications that typed works have brought and rather more positive. I must say there is more intimacy and sincerity in handwritten works, but as long as one continues to write, I don’t think it matters which means of writing one undertakes. It’s just a matter of personal preference.

3 comments

  1. I really enjoyed your post because it was different. I like your topic, how did you come up with it and what does it mean to you? Were these people random people or were they people you knew? I think you did a great job with great descriptions on the different views people had.

    1. Thanks fierceday01, different is what I aim for. I’m not really sure how I came up with it, but the people in the photos are all my friends (Shhh thats supposed to be unknown so it gets the full effect). My opinion of this topic is that people are always scared of change. Since the beginning of time, when written works were taking over the oral, people were anxious about change and they didn’t like it. Honestly the phrasing of the question might have lead some on to think a certain way, but honestly what is wrong with change? Okay, traditions and familiarity is awesome, but we should embrace the new just as we do the past. Change is a scary, but beautiful thing.

  2. I loved your idea and the way you formatted and presented it. I never thought about it, but once I did, I realized how elusive and scarce handwritten accounts are today. Everyone’s handwriting is unique to themselves and gives an individual insight into their unique personality.

Leave a Reply

