Grease Trucks: An Ever-Changing Phenomenon

What is the first thing you think of when you hear the word “Grease Trucks”? Was it your first night out of college seeing a swarming crowd of people gathering in a parking lot, basking in the glory of the gluttonous indulgences of a fat sandwich? Or was it just the word of mouth you heard about this somewhat out of reach concept-a sandwich with mozzarella sticks, chicken fingers and french fries, that I’ll actually let myself eat? In light of the recent location change of the grease trucks, I have reflected on my own experiences there, from when I first discovered their existence, to now, where I can honestly say I haven’t had a fat sandwich in almost 6 months.

Screen Shot 2014-02-25 at 5.29.19 PM

I got my first metaphorical “taste” of the idea of fat sandwiches in 2010, my sophomore year of high school, while watching my favorite, “Man vs. Food.” At that point I had no idea I would even go to Rutgers, let alone ever eat a fat sandwich-I was totally grossed out! The prospect of eating even half was making me full just thinking about it.

255574_4136205656770_1749622442_n

Fast forward two years later to my freshman year: a friend from high school and I promised we’d try our first fat sandwiches together. I also met my first (and now best) friend at Rutgers that day when she came with us! I took my first bite and naturally, fell in love.

Screen Shot 2014-02-25 at 5.27.49 PM

From then on, I would enjoy them during the day…

60609_3901179008554_590073153_n

Or at night!

456339_4294205086657_206141105_o

I proceeded to share my enjoyment of the grease trucks with family every time they visited. I was surprised and horrified at how much my thirteen year old and eleven year old cousins enjoyed them and were able to finish the whole thing!

150559_3901178368538_1661575715_n

Even my friends couldn’t let themselves leave Rutgers without trying one.

Screen Shot 2014-02-26 at 12.55.46 AM

Flash forward to the end of my freshman year during the summer: some disappointing news came to light. Rutgers was going to move the grease trucks out of lot 8 on College Ave. The fate of our beloved food trucks was unknown-and it was a scary possibility having to come back to RU in the fall without being able to taste a fat sandwich again!

Screen Shot 2014-02-26 at 9.07.57 AM

Alas, they were merely relocated and scattered across the campuses of Rutgers. The original, RU Hungry sits at the top of Douglass, Mr. C’s is situated in the Nicholas parking lot on Cook, and two others are on College Ave by the River Dorms and the Army-ROTC House.

Screen Shot 2014-02-26 at 9.22.55 AM

The change in location has definitely changed the culture and atmosphere of going out on College Ave and experiencing the after-hours environment of the parking lot that originally housed them. However, their new locations enable them to draw in a different dynamic of customers and even offer cool deals, such as rewards cards.

Screen Shot 2014-02-26 at 9.23.04 AM

No matter where they end up, for those of us who experienced the chaos and fun that came with the Grease Trucks in Lot 8 will never be forgotten. It won’t feel right for a while looking at that parking lot being so empty!

Leave a Reply

