The People You Meet at College ARE the Education

This was my first taste of Rutgers, getting out of the car to my first dorm.  Little did I know I would soon meet my best friends and that where I lived would dictate the path I would take throughout school.

This was my first taste of Rutgers, getting out of the car to walk up these steps to my dorm in Quad 2. Little did I know I would soon meet my best friends and that where I lived would dictate the path I would take throughout school.

My best friend at Rutgers turned out to be one of the first people I met.  I heard loud rap music I recognized coming from the room next door to mine, so I popped my head in to introduce myself and we were best friends ever since . . .

My best friend at Rutgers turned out to be one of the first people I met. I heard loud rap music I recognized coming from the room next door to mine, so I popped my head in to introduce myself and we were best friends ever since . . .

My friend Alec had a friend from his highschool that lived in Quad 1, and she introduced us to a bunch of girls.  Marisa and Dianne are still two of my best girl friends at Rutgers

My friend Alec had a friend from his highschool that lived in Quad 1, and she introduced us to a bunch of girls. Marisa and Dianne are still two of my best girl friends at Rutgers, and I might have never known them if I hadn’t lived next to Alec.

My other two best friends I met about a few weeks later even though they lived right next to me.  After me and Alec introduced ourselves to Dan and Avi we realized they were cool and soon we had our little crew on our floor.  Meeting Avi and Dan also changed my Rutgers experience because they brought me to the fraternity that we all ended up joining.

I met my other two best friends about a few weeks later even though they lived right next to me. After me and Alec introduced ourselves to Dan and Avi we realized they were cool and soon we had our little crew on our floor. Meeting Avi and Dan also changed my Rutgers experience because they brought me to the fraternity that we all ended up joining.

As soon as I accepted my bid I knew who I was going to pick as my big brother.  My friend Dean has been a mentor and a best friend ever since I met him, plus it was nice to finally meet another Italian kid I could relate to.  Also he is from the Bronx so he's showed me a different perspective of life from the standard New Jersian Rutgers student.

As soon as I accepted my bid I knew who I was going to pick as my big brother. My friend Dean has been a mentor and a best friend ever since I met him, plus it was nice to finally meet another Italian kid I could relate to. Also he is from the Bronx so he’s showed me a different perspective of life from the standard New Jersian Rutgers student.

When I became part of Dean's Greek family I learned that a kid named Ryan Fritz was my great Grand big.  Ryan turned out to be one of the best role models I've ever had.  He was a completely reckless and crazy kid, yet at the same time a nuclear engineering major with a great future in the Navy.  I learned more about having fun and enjoying life from Ryan then any other person I had ever met, and I'm grateful I met him before he went into his Naval training.

When I became part of Dean’s Greek family I learned that a kid named Ryan Fritz was my great Grand big. Ryan turned out to be one of the best role models I’ve ever had. He was a completely reckless and crazy kid, yet at the same time a nuclear engineering major with a great future in the Navy. I learned more about having fun and enjoying life from Ryan then any other person I had ever met, and I’m grateful I met him before he went into his Naval training.

This picture is great because it displays how goofy my pledge brother Dave is.  Throughout our process we became super close as he was always the kid that would cheer me up.  Almost always a smile on his face, there is almost no one that doesn't love Dave, which is great because he dreams of being an important politician someday.

This picture is great because it displays how goofy my pledge brother Dave is. Throughout our process we became super close as he was always the kid that would cheer me up. With almost always a smile on his face, there is almost no one that doesn’t love Dave, which is great because he dreams of being an important politician someday.

Through Dean I hung around two extremely interesting, ambitious kids named Jerrell and Stiz.  These two started their own clothing company and have done a great job including a lot of their friends in the development process.  Jerrell and Stiz have taught me that if you have a dream you should chase it, no matter how hard the task seems.

Through Dean I hung around two extremely interesting, ambitious brothers of the fraternity named Jerrell and Stiz. These two started their own clothing company and have done a great job including a lot of their friends in the development process. Jerrell and Stiz have taught me that if you have a dream you should chase it, no matter how hard the task seems.

Whenever I'm having a hard time with homework or studying I always have my friend Liam to turn to.  Being the only other math major in the fraternity, Liam has a lot of the same goals in life as I do though he is a little farther along being that he is a year older.  I look up to Liam a lot and have learned that I can get great grades and be successful within my domain and still have a great time doing it.

Whenever I’m having a hard time with homework or studying I always have my friend Liam to turn to. Being the only other math major in the fraternity, Liam has a lot of the same goals in life as I do though he is a little farther along being that he is a year older. I look up to Liam a lot and have learned that I can get great grades and be successful within my domain and still have a great time doing it.

I am now in Cambell Hall in my sophomore year and have already met these people and plenty more whom have changed my outlook on the world around me and influenced me in some way.  It's crazy how I met everyone I know strictly based on where I was randomly assigned by Rutgers as well, and how much my life may have been different if I lived in some other dorm.  With two and a half more years left here I can't do anything more then stare out the window and think who else I will encounter on "the banks of the old Raritan" . . .

I am now in Cambell Hall in my sophomore year and have already met these people and plenty more whom have changed my outlook on the world around me and influenced me in some way. It’s crazy how I met everyone I know strictly based on where I was randomly assigned by Rutgers as well, and how much my life may have been different if I lived in some other dorm. With two and a half more years left here I can’t do anything more then stare out the window and think who else I will encounter on “the banks of the old Raritan” . . .

2 comments

  1. Interesting story and you seem to have an exciting college life. I’m glad your balancing fun and school, something a lot of students need to do better at, and some other students can either do one or the other, but not both. The fraternity evidently helped you mature as a person and gave you more insight in life, which is always good, keep it up and good luck in the last half college and beyond.

  2. You make a great point here. Students learn much more through their college experience and the people they meet than through the classes taught. Social life and academics should be balanced which not all students do, as Sumit pointed out. College is where many young people learn how to adapt in social environments as well as learn life lessons. It seems like you’ve got a great story so far and I can’t wait to start mine.

Leave a Reply

