Skyscraper

demi-lovato-s-skyscraper-cover-art-release-date

On July 12, 2011, “Skyscraper” by Demi Lovato was released. This song is not only inspirational, but the lyrics go far beyond what you might hear.  Song writters Toby Gad, Lingy Robbins and Kerli Kõiv found the inspiration needed for the song from a picture of the apocalypse. This picture they were looking at was a single skyscraper amongst ruins of collapsed buildings surrounding it (hence the title of the song). This skyscraper represented how even in the lowest points of one’s life, one can always get back up if one has the hope and strength to.

[Verse 1:]
“Skies are crying, I am watching
Catching tear drops in my hands
Only silence as it’s ending
Like we never had a chance
Do you have to make me feel like
There’s nothing left of me?

[Chorus:]
You can take everything I have
You can break everything I am
Like I’m made of glass
Like I’m made of paper
Go on and try to tear me down
I will be rising from the ground
Like a skyscraper
Like a skyscraper”

Even in the opening verse the lyrics depict what it feels like for one to feel all alone and hopeless. The chorus then gives a bit of encouragement when the lyrics say “Go on and try to tear me down, I will be rising from the ground” just the like the picture from the apocalypse! Whatever experience you went through, these lyrics cover both the generic, yet personal aspect needed to impact you in some way. As the song continues the lyrics lean more towards the hopeful side of the obstacles life has thrown at us.
[Verse 2:]
“As the smoke clears, I awaken
And untangle you from me
Would it make you feel better
To watch me while I bleed?
All my windows still are broken
But I’m standing on my feet[Chorus:]

[Bridge:]
Go run, run, run
I’m gonna stay right here,
Watch you disappear
Yeah, oh
Go run, run, run
Yeah, it’s a long way down
But I am closer to the clouds up here

[Chorus:]

Like a skyscraper
Like a skyscraper”

These lyrics truly speak for themselves because the song writers, in my opinion, really recreated and transformed the picture with the skyscraper into a lyrical art form. Lyrics are all fine and dandy, but it takes a singer to make them come alive and that is exactly what happened with “Skyscraper”. The song was offered to Demi Lovato and she accepted it on the basis that she could relate to it as well as her fans. This song represented the journey Demi went on during late 2010-2011. Demi’s voice in this ballad fits extremely well with the meaning and purpose behind the lyrics due to her quivering and breathy vocals.

Unbroken-fanmade-album-cover-demi-lovato-25540883-500-500Even Demi Lovato’s cover art (above) for the album “Skyscraper”  is on captivates her beauty and fierceness in my opinion. Same goes for the single cover art located at the top of this blog. Her face shows both courage yet despair at the same time, just like the song itself. I feel connected to this song because Demi seems as though she is singing from her heart and one with the music. For me music is all about passion and whether or not the vocalist feels that special connect with the meaning of the song. To say that Demi did just that would not even come close to describing her performance. Because she knows what pain feels like, to be the lowest of all lows, and to rise above it all one step at a time, she is able to personally relate to the song which is often hard to do when you’re not the one who wrote the lyrics.

2 comments

  1. I found it interesting that the idea form this song originated from the idea of an apocalypse( which I also found interesting to mean a disclosure of knowledge rather than a zombie take-over!) However, I think the exact connection between the disclosure of knowledge that inspired the song, the image of a skyscraper, and the actual lyrics was left explicit. I see the connection between what you described as Demi rebuilding herself from her experience in the past couple years, however it took a manipulation of the ideas to make them work together. Since you had opened with the idea of an apocalypse, I wish you could have made a more implicit connection. Also, I feel that Demi’s journey in 2010 was a vital part of her accepting the offer to sing the song and I wish you would have included the details of that in the post rather than redirecting your readers to another site.

    Another point I found interesting was that Demi did not write the song herself. I agree that it takes a special talent to related to song that you did not write yourself and while Demi did go through a very rough patch in her life, the facial expressions in her video and on her cover art are very generic; it makes me question whether or not Demi is actually at a stage of rebirth or whether she is trying to appear that way to gain her audience back.

  2. I’m so happy someone wrote about this song. Singers and artist such as Demi Lovato I feel like are often over looked because of their disney channel association. However, this song, as well as many others are very powerful. Demi Lovato went through a lot in her life and her strength should be idealized by people everywhere. I love this song and what it stands for and I love this whole album. Well…I just love Demi lol

Leave a Reply

