Have you ever felt alone in a crowded room?

I had to go through my library to figure out a song that has truly spoken to me over the years out of the thousands of songs I’ve listened to. I landed on a song titled, “Dark Blue” by Jack’s Mannequin. The song is off of their album called Everything in Transit released in 2005.

The song is beautifully composed with Andrew McMahon singing the lyrics and simultaneously playing the piano. The band in the background contributes with the drums and other instruments, making it have a powerful and deep sound. I feel the sound and the way the song makes you feel has more of an impact than the lyrics itself. The song was played live on an episode of “One Tree Hill” which was one of my favorite television shows when it still aired. My personal connection to this song is simply loving the whole album, and it was one of the first albums I listened to in this genre. I love blasting music while I drive and get lost in my thoughts, and many times this song was playing in the background.

Everything_in_Transit

The album cover art does not remind me of the song at all. It has a bright, sunny beach setting meanwhile some of the lyrics say, “I said the world could be burning ‘til there’s nothing but dark blue…just dark blue.” The lyrics are depressing in a way and do not match the album cover, but with other tracks it may make more sense. Some of the ideas presented in the lyrics are feeling alone with many people around you, and those feelings are what transforms into “dark blue”.

Leave a Reply

